Skip to content

Something from Raypeg

March 30, 2011
by

We have been waiting for this moment for so long (well… since December) that now that I am finally sitting down to write my first THE PEG post, I’ve got too many things buzzing around in my head to focus on one. So let’s just see how this goes…

When I started working on this post, I thought it was going to be about my new found appreciation of the perfectly tailored t-shirt – what I used to think was a dull wardrobe addition was now my ultimate goal. This is maybe triggered by having returned from travelling last year with a different outlook on how to dress – am now a firm believer that less is more. Slowly I have been more and more alert to the ‘tee’ situation – when I was at Vogue I heard an intern say to one of the Fashion Assistants “Oh my GOD you have the most amazing selection of t-shirts” – and I thought, bloody hell, what a crap thing to have a good selection of. I was not YET  a convert! 

Anyway, I’m starting to get it, the wheels are turning, this t-shirt fetish is growing inside me, so then imagine my abundant JOY at the sight of the Jil Sander S/S11 collection: t-shirts + ballgowns = haute couture palpitations.

So thereI was this morning, happily clicking through the collection and choosing my favourite ‘tee’ for this post when I realised that this is something I do more than 4 times a week. Seriously.

My name is Raypeg and I am addicted to Jil Sander.

So now this post has become a confession about my new found addiction. I’m going to try and justify it now if that’s OK…

Something about the boldness of the colour which is starkly compared to black/white. This oxymoron, repeated in the tailoring (minimalist perfect t-shirts just a little bit sheer vs. maximalist floor scraping gowns) is just so exquisitely balanced that it is impossible to know if it is an understatement or an overstatement.

The thickness of the taffeta is practically audible in these pictures, my mouth is watering at the thought of what it must be like to wear them. Utterely empowering, Raf Simons makes me feel like hopping on the first train to London (or some other centre of the universe) and start making my mark. Cheers Raf!

Pretentious rant over, here’s a sneak peek at what I have been up to at work over the past week (courtesy of amazing photographer Justyna Ptak). The first is a shoot about 70’s fashion, then the second is minimalism – which I intend to title “Menimalism” !!!! I know!!! Thank god for my degree!!!!

Over and out Peglets xxxxxxx

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

