Skip to content

1, 2, 3, 4, a head made of paper…

May 4, 2011
by

I may not be bilingual, but after a weekend in Amsterdam with some Dutch compadres I am now proficient in a Dutch nursery rhyme (English translation above). I’ll start from the beginning…

SINCERE apologies for my absence last week, I’ve been fraught with guilt ever since and am so glad to be back in the Peg hotseat again. Last Thursday I had a business matter to attend and on Wednesday night was in no fit state to put a sentence together – however it did give me the chance to watch my sister create these most stunning and patriotic macaroons just in time for Kate and Wills’ big day, here’s some snaps of the process…

 

While we’re on the Royal Wedding – HOW perfect was the dress? The moment we had all been waiting for was met by content sighs and maybe even the odd tear in our eyes. Unfortunately I had to turn down my invitation to sing Beyonce’s “Halo” at the royal reception as I hopped on a plane to The Netherlands straight after the nuptials were over. Soz C&W – maybe next year?

 As I mentioned in my last post, I went to Amsterdam to celebrate ‘Queens Day’. This might have started out, way back when, as a nice party for the Queens birthday in the 19th Century. Now it’s a country wide knees up, with Amsterdam at the epicentre. The whole city was a field of orange party goers (myself included):

 

Stages, make-shift DJ booths and beer were abound and it’s safe to say that we had a pegtastic time. Except that I fell (read: jumped to my peril) off a bike about 1 minute after this picture was taken:

 

What do you think of when you hear ‘Holland’? Clogs? Prozzies? Doobies? The first thing that always pops into my innocent Peghead was Hansel and Gretel style gingerbread effect houses. And guess what? My architectural dreams came true!! Look at this beauty:

 

Another Dutch wonder were the fields of tulips – gorgeous from the plane and the car!

 

And lastly, the FOOD. Cheese, meat and veg and pacakes are on every menu – that’s my kinda diet! LilRayPeg you might like this pic:

 

One of the many positives of The Peg is that it has forced me to see every minute as a photo opportunity – I’m always scrabbling to get my phone out so that I can snap away at whatever takes my fancy despite my shaky camera work. With this in mind, I’m going to leave you all with a Peg less travelled, the neglected but I’m sure soon to be rejoiced Peg, the underdog Peg. That’s right… THE TEE PEG!

 

Night night Peglets xx

 

 

 

 

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

