Skip to content

Live at Leeds 2011

May 4, 2011
by

Hello everyone… I have been very busy and rather terrible x

Last weekend, however I did manage to get myself to Live at Leeds!… What is that?! I hear you say….

oh go.. on then I’ll tell you..

Basically it was a lovely big festival in Leeds City Centre, in lots of different venues. I have never been to a festival in a city before… it was AMAZING….

So I managed to drag myself out of bed on saturday morning having seriously celebrated all friday at a friends wedding and skipped into town in the sun to meet Matt, followed by Rory, Aiden, Marco and Matty. Yes once again I had transformed into ‘Liv the Ladette’ and I love it!

GO ON LAD!

     

Venues included

The Cockpit

The Faversham

Leeds Uni Stylus

Leeds Met

The Brudenell Social Club

The Nation of Shopkeepers

The o2 Academy

The Well

Milos

Leeds Holy Trinity Church

I managed to see:

Mojo Fury  – Cockpit

James Blake  – o2 Acadamy

Adult Jazz – Holy Trinity Church

Slow Club – Leeds Uni Stylus

Aloe Blacc – The Faversham

Amongst others….

The city was sunny and filled with people celebrating the bank holiday and so the vibe was ridiculous.

I high point to the day was finding the Holy Trinity Church and managing to catch a band from Leeds that we had heard of play called ‘Adult Jazz’.

The pews were filled with silent listeners sipping a warm bottle of Heineken that has been tipped into a plastic cup.

To be able to buy and drink beer in a church felt pretty weird but we soon realized why the venue was so amazing. The sound was fantastic and the acoustics made 6 that evening the perfect time to relax before getting back on it for ALOE BLACC.

So from one until 5 I managed to party.. and I don’t mean the first 5… I mean the second.. the one that is the next day..thats right ….. THE BETTER 5!

But man we had fun..

If you haven’t already.. get listening to:

James Blake – Try Willhelm Scream to ease you in…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MVgEaDemxjc

Aloe Black – I need a Dollar

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iR6oYX1D-0w

Slow Club – Because we’re dead

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AkH9hfkCbDc

Actually this was amazing.. my friend is good friends with this pair from Sheffield…

They were great, packed out the union.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Other music I have been listening to this week?

OH .. go on then x but only VERY QUICKLY

Chapel Club – Palace

Anna Calvi – Anna Calvi

(particularly fallen for this one)

Gold Panda –  Lucky shinner

Jamie Woon – Mirrorwritting

I am still waiting on that new fleet foxes album out TODAY BOOM

In summary.. PEOPLE .. next year let’s all go to live at Leeds as I have now sampled it and its 10 (out of 10)

I want to leave you with a picture or Rory ‘coolkid’ Cameron – WHAT A LAD – looks like a pensioner from the back but don’t be fooled. He’s an ANIMAL… my favorite drinking animal x

Love love love x

Livpeg x


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

