Skip to content

guilty pleasures week

June 6, 2011

I’ll tell you what’s not a guilty pleasure: the Cabinet Office’s Government ICT strategy as Sunday night reading in tardy preparation for work tomorrow 😦
Yuck
My biggest guilty pleasure category is undoubtedly TV. I feel that now’s the time to come clean. The Hills, The City, ANTM (pssst that’s top model), Made in Chelsea, Jersey Shore, Real Housewives of somewhere unrealistic in America and yes even Girls of the Playboy Mansion at times. Which reminds me- The Simple Life.
That half hour to 45 minutes of pure entertaiment vapour is exactly what I need after work. Although I’ve often switched rapidly to something less embarassing should someone disapproving come along.

I testify that a good old super spin on the dance floor is also a guilty pleasure of sorts, as enjoyed with raypeg and our ‘cloud’ skirts on saturday night at JamHouse in Birmingham to sounds of The Starlight Club. Celebrating little Raypeg’s birthday got a bit spin crazy, there’s something a bit childishly silly about throwing yourself into a disco-tornado. I find I catch myself eyeing up a clear spot of dance floor and imagining I could just take it on like Julie Andrews whirling on some lush Austrian mountain. It’s kind of about being centre of attention and kind of imagining life as some sort of MGM musical and that makes it a guilty pleasure. Right raypeg?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. raypeg permalink
    June 7, 2011 10:25 am

    RIGHT ESTHERPEG!!!

  2. Anonymous permalink
    June 7, 2011 9:19 pm

    Ha Ha…sounds like your having a ball me girl!!!

Leave a Reply

