Skip to content

Solo Sunday

June 13, 2011

This weekend I was left with the prospect of a lonesome Saturday night to Sunday. Rather than fill me with dread I started to rather relish the opportunity to explore Manchester under my own steam for a bit and promptly headed to the city art gallery as one of my favourite artists Anish Kapoor had an exhibition there. I’d loved seeing his work at the Royal Academy last year so was extra disappointed to find that my calendar awareness skills had let me down once again, the exhibition had closed on the 5th! I can’t even begin to tell you how many times I’ve done this 😦
However, a cheery sign saying ‘Grayson Perry: Visual Dialogues’ soon cheered me up. Perry is another all time fave of mine, I love his complex layers and astounding level of skill as well as incredible depth of thought behind each piece. Nothing is taboo with Perry.
The piece pictured is called Jane Austen in E17, the east london postcode of Perry’s studio from which he’s taken photos of signs warning against loitering or crime and turned them into lithograph’s at Stoke-on-Trent’s very own Bailey’s, where I got my lithographs for my ceramics back in art college! Go Stoke! Manchester City Gallery has just purchased this so its in their permanant collection, you must pop in next time you’re in Manchester as well as his 7foot print ‘Print for a Politician’
When describing this piece, GP days:
“I think of Jane Austen as the polite touchstone of middle class britain, not the flashily educated literary theorists, but baby boomer graduates, lovers of bbc costume drama.
These ladies in georgian dress represent the comfortable bourgeois mindset, conservative yet heavily laced with an arch humour. The background is plastered with photographs taken from glossy magazines. Take a break. Grazia, OK, the rowdy babble of modern average britain. There are also pictures I have talen from around my flat in Walthamstow. Security notices, advertisements for singles nights, symbols are how far and yet how near east london is from hampshire two centuries ago.”
There’s so much to say about Grayson Perry I don’t know where to begin so please please go and look him up, you’ll love him.
On another inspirational note, I did a Giles style pedicure, I love my cheery toes!
PegPegPeg!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lynno permalink
    June 14, 2011 10:20 pm

    Fab blog, keep up great writing hun. Grayson Perry, love those complex characters, was he at Hay Festival last year?

    • Anonymous permalink
      August 2, 2011 1:06 pm

      Yes Ma’am I b’leve he was!

Leave a Reply

