Skip to content

Backstreet’s back!

August 26, 2011

As I’ve not been in touch for a few weeks (BADPEG!) I’m at loss for what to write about. In truth, I need to focus, it’s time to get disciplined in life not just in Peg.

I do have some interested things to share though:

1. Trampolining. Not as carefree an activity as you’d imagine. After weeks of nagging friends to accompany me to deepest darkest Salford’s trampolining centre of excellence which is staffed by lovely helpful people but is in need of funding for repairs, I finally got my Bounce Crew together and headed off on an expedition. I’d been humming the Tigger song to myslef all day but when I got on the elasticated death trap, I ended up throwing my back out! Agony! Everyone else had a fine time though swivel-hipping and star-jumping all over the place, the sweat was literally pouring off them and cheeks + abs were aching from all the laughing. When I’ve recovered I am so going again it looks like and amazing workout with added endorphins!

2. Chocolate Cheesecake Brownies. See here for total heaven: http://www.independent.co.uk/life-style/food-and-drink/recipes/cheesecake-brownies-753840.html

110 g dark chocolate (minimum 70% cocoa solids) 110 g unsalted butter 150 g caster sugar 60 g plain flour 1/4 tsp sea salt 2 medium eggs

Cheesecake mixture

225 g cream cheese 50 g caster sugar 1 tsp vanilla extract 1 medium egg

Preheat the oven to 150C fan oven/160C or 315F electric oven/Gas 2 and butter and flour a 23 cm square cake tin. Melt the chocolate with the butter in a bowl set over a pan of simmering water. Remove from the heat, add the sugar and stir, then leave to cool slightly. Sift the flour and salt into a large bowl. Add the eggs to the chocolate mixture, beating after each one until it is very glossy. Lightly fold in the flour and set aside.

Beat the cream cheese with the sugar in a bowl for the cheesecake mixture. Add the vanilla essence and egg and mix. Spread the chocolate mixture in the prepared tin evenly Top with the cheesecake mixture and using a sharp knife, gently swirl it into the chocolate mixture. Bake for 20-30 minutes, or until just set in the middle. Leave to cool in the tin for 15-20 minutes before cutting into squares and serving.

3. Let’s Dance with Mel B What a workout! This has got some good tracks on it as well as Mel’s gravity defying breasts! Backstreet’s Back —owch!

4. Mariachi El Bronx Don’t you just love it when already fantastic indie band The Bronx decides to go for a Mexican musical side project. Yeah me too. Their version of Prince’s ‘I would die for U’ is so good. It’s the sweet confusion of hearing their take on classic hits that I relish, I just need to make sure I don’t over-play it and lose it’s mariachi edge.

5. In blog world, I’d lost touch with my usual faves: Sartorialist, Paul Smith, Style Rookie… New blogger friend http://somewhereontheoutside.wordpress.com/ makes for an honest, varied and interested read so CHECK IT OUT PEGSTERS.

PEG OUT XXXXXXX

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

